• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 mikeifer

mikeifer

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 26 December 2007 - 08:44 PM

I am a beginner. I have been wanting this telescope for a long time. I did my research and thought this one sounded like it would be easiest to use right out of the box. I cannot get it to allign at all. I choose one star alignment choose Sirius and my scope slews towards the eastern sky no problem I think great it is working then it starts to slew up and does not stop until it is at max elevation and the scope is pushing on the mount. I try to slew it down but it will not stop moving when I get the star in the center of the eyepiece. I have done all the train drive steps several times. I am taking the scope doen to my parents for new years and ope I can figure out what I am doing wrong before then.

One other issue. When looking at the moon I try to get it to auto slew and track on the moon but it goes frommbasicly moonrise to moonset in 5 minutes any ideas?

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Mike 8)

#2 Tlturner

Tlturner

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 27 December 2007 - 12:37 PM

I have the same problem! I got the DS-2114 for the kids for Christmas and took it out for the first time on the 26th. I could not get it to align either. Maybe someone will answer here and help us who are new to the whole thing!

#3 mikeifer

mikeifer

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 27 December 2007 - 03:09 PM

sorry to hear your having issues as well, but glad to hear I am not the only one. I went thru the train drive sequence again and now I am waiting for the kid to go to bed, so I can give it another shot. I feel like I just got a new sports car and can not get it out of first gear. Hope we figure it out or here something soon.

#4 autostaretx

autostaretx

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 206 posts

Posted 28 December 2007 - 05:54 PM

> then it starts to slew up and does not stop...

Another thing to try is