Jump to content


Photo

My mySky is a disappointment


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 sahrens

sahrens

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 27 September 2007 - 07:23 PM

???
I just received my mySKY today...it worked for 30 minutes...it never did acquire the GPS after 5 tries...I entered the data manually, played with the videos, and locate features for 20 minutes...tried to power it off and the power button was stuck in.  I reset the batteries...still could not get the unit to power back on..the Power button was kaput!  The brightness and volume switches also seem to be inset too far.  I am really disappointed in Meade for releasing something of this poor quality.  I've waited for the past 8 months for this thing...they should have spent an extra 50 cents for better switches and buttons.  I am returning it to Astronomics...and told them I do not want another one.  Meade missed the target on this one!
Steve Ahrens  Fairmont, WV.

#2 sunnyplace

sunnyplace

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 31 March 2008 - 09:08 AM

Any word yet from Meade if the switches and hardware are made any better?  I called Meade about this and they said it was a software problem with the first batch of MySkys. 

My guess is the hardware and switches have not improved in quality.  Any ideas or news about the MySky improving the quality of the hardware and switches.

#3 Fish Cat Fish Dog

Fish Cat Fish Dog

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

Posted 31 March 2008 - 09:30 AM

People do not normally go to a doctor just to say hello.  I would assume people don't normally come to this site to just say hello.

Is there anybody out there who bought a MySky, opened the box, read the instructions and found the product to work very well and have no had issues with the instrument?  I'm curious.

By the way, Hello.

#4 frizzen

frizzen

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 31 March 2008 - 04:08 PM

I bought a Mysky from the same place about a week ago. It worked just fine out of the box.
I used it so much, I have had to change batterys after a week. It got a GPS in about 2 min.
After the first one, I just use the last setting. It ask me to set it down so the sencors can
work. Takes about 5 sec. From the time I turn it on now to locating objects it takes about
30 sec. I have used all the buttons hundreds of times. No problem.Mine is ver. 1.2tc. I even
downloaded the latest data to upgrade the ISS data, so I could track it. Is right on right down to the min. It is working Great except one thing. I won't get a GPS fix anymore. No
problem, I just use the last and I might add the first and only GPS fix. Hope you get more
reports of others working.  Phil  Kansas City

#5 Fish Cat Fish Dog

Fish Cat Fish Dog

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

Posted 31 March 2008 - 05:32 PM

Phil,

Thank you for your reply.  I would like to here more positive news about this instrument.  Maybe a Topic Called "Stuff Works Great". 

#6 sunnyplace

sunnyplace

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 03 April 2008 - 07:15 AM

I want to hear about successes and failures with the MySky product.  Thank you Phil for your success story. 

Roger I did not understand your post but maybe a new thread that talks about failures and successes would be helpful instead of just failures.

I have been monitoring some of the retailers websites and the reviews in the past few months have not been favorable about the switches and other hardware issues with the MySky.  I think this is a great concept but it appears from new purchasers that it is somewhat hit and miss right now.

#7 Fish Cat Fish Dog

Fish Cat Fish Dog

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

Posted 03 April 2008 - 07:29 AM

sunnyplace,

I would like to buy a Mysky for my dad, but I am hearing about a lot of problems from these units.  I was hoping to hear from a lot people with positive experiences.  I do not like just hearing about the bad stuff.

I have not seen the switches on the MySky, but if they are like the on/off switch on the AutoStar Wireless they are not of the best quality.

#8 sunnyplace

sunnyplace

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 04 April 2008 - 09:56 AM

I agree.

I was hoping that once Meade made some changes, we would hear about alot of positive experiences. 

I am encouraged by Phil's experience but if he can't get another GPS fix, the MySky won't work at another location such as camping out.

#9 Zooball

Zooball

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 04 April 2008 - 08:59 PM

My first one worked perfectly for four months.  Then the power switch popped off the circuit board.  I wish I could have fixed it myself.  As soon as I knew the extent of the damage, the spiral of try-and-return would begin.  #2 would not get GPS or let me enter the time/location data.  #3 seems to work, but points off to the right and identifies Leo as Pegasus!

I really miss the first one, but I am coming to accept I've lost $400.

#10 torzechowski

torzechowski

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 25 June 2008 - 06:24 PM

Just received MySky today and everything seems to be working fine.  I have noticed that the unit is almost solely plastic and if it is dropped, there goes my $245.00  My SkyScout is much better built, and the case is a great help, but it does eat batteries.  Will try the MySky out over this weekend and see how it does..

#11 cjohnson

cjohnson

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts

Posted 11 July 2008 - 01:10 PM

I bought a Mysky, and have to admit I am very disappointed. It kept locking up when getting a GPS fix. I updated the firmware in it, and finally got a GPS fix. I used it to track a few things, and even guided the scope with it. I decided to do some imaging, so I set the mysky next to my equipment and started imaging. When I got the imager going, I thought I would play with the Mysky again, and the on button was stuck in. Luckily I was able to return it. I decided to return it after having so many problems with it locking up and not turning on after viewing a bunch of reviews online searching for the lock-up problem.
<a href=http://cleardarksky.com/c/RenoNVkey.html>
<img src="http://cleardarksky....cs0.gif?1"></a>
Meade LX-200R - ETX-125 - ETX-80 - Coronado PST. Yep, I'm an astronomy junkie!

#12 PhatThumb

PhatThumb

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 14 July 2008 - 11:54 AM

Just received the mySky last Friday (11JUL2008).  Plugged in the batteries and followed my instructions and the device operated nearly properly.  Drove outside of town to get away from any obvious sources of magnetic interference.  Noted that the precision is lacking.  Pointed at the four corners of Hercules' keystone (one at a time), same information came up each time.  Three times I directed mySky towards Jupiter...mySky informed me that the bright light in the sky was strange little planet called Earth. (yes, I ran through the initialization steps a few times in hopes of giving the device an oppurtunity to perform)

Have yet to get the updater to work properly on my PC.  It keeps locking up during the programming.  The instructions that come with the device look as if a first-year tech writing student handed in their first draft of a semester project.

The quality of construction/materials is slightly less than a happy meal prize. I really hate to sound too negative, but really, hold it in your hand and feel the buttons...it is very cheaply made.

Quite a dissapointment.

I love my telescopes...but this thing is a bona fide overpriced piece of junk that is making its way back to the dealer.

#13 Nekota

Nekota

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 26 December 2008 - 12:06 AM

Well I purchased a MySky Plus but it only says MySky and the software version is 1.q.  There are options for using GPS - did not sync after several tries. My phone and computer GPS pick up signals ok.  Manual mode hangs after entering the seconds entry.  The demo mode is all that works so far.  The buttons are difficult to operate by being very 'sticky' and have very little feedback. 

Maybe if it worked I would not even be here - now I am looking for information to help get it to work.

#14 jm19

jm19

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 10 January 2009 - 08:03 PM

Nekota, as per previous blogs, 1.2q freezes and needs to be updated to 1.2tc. This is available from Meade website and several other members have given good instructions on how to download and install. Mine has been fine since updating the software. The only other trick is that time is GMT (not really mentioned anywhere) which is important if you are outside of US etc. (I'm in Australia) I'm optimistic that once you get the new software you will be fine as it sounds an identical problem to that faced by me. Regards
Julie




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users