• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Hophead_LWC

Hophead_LWC

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 December 2019 - 09:03 PM

I am new to the hobby and trying to get the best out of my first scope, a Polaris 130EQ. It seems to be a decent starter scope with good reviews, but I'm having trouble with collimation.

My question is: can the secondary mirror be adjusted away from the primary, toward the spider?

While trying to collimate per the instructions from Meade, I am unable to center the secondary mirror when viewed through the focuser tube. The secondary appears to be too far toward the primary mirror, viewed with and without a collimation cap. Since I don't understand exactly how such an adjustment is made, I wanted to ask the experts in this forum. I assume any forward/back adjustment involves the center screw, but somewhere I had read a stern (perhaps overly dire) warning to not touch that screw! I have a picture in mind of what I think needs to happen, but I'd rather be safe than drop a mirror.

I've uploaded a couple of photos showing how the secondary looks with and without the collimation cap. Hopefully they are helpful!

CC1 20191204_002122.jpg

DT1 20191206_185851.jpg

I like the Polaris 130 and I want to push it as far as it can go. I find myself getting hooked on the hobby and have just bought an LX85 8" ACF...but I still want to dial in the 130 as a more portable option.

I appreciate any advice from the community!

Thanks,

Ken

Ken

#2 MistrBadgr

MistrBadgr

Advanced Member

• Administrators
  • 2958 posts
  • LocationBroken Arrow, Oklahoma

Posted 13 December 2019 - 08:24 PM

Hi Ken!

What you have to do is slowly back off each of the three small collimation screws a tiny little bit, then tighten the center screw.  Repeat the process until the mirror is where you want it.

Hope this helps!

Bill

Bill Steen, Sky Hunters' Haven Observatory, Broken Arrow, Oklahoma

#3 Hophead_LWC

Hophead_LWC

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts