#1 Cezar

Cezar

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • LocationBucharest, Romania

Posted 04 December 2018 - 02:05 PM

Hi all,

This is my first attempt to take a picture of a dso.
On my LT-8 I used the Fuji X-A1 mirrorless camera. From my balcony, under a heavy polluted sky (max star magnitude is 2), I tried to capture M15. I took 30 light frames at ISO 5000 with 30sec exposure and 5 dark frames. There were only 6 lights to be processed in DSS. The resulting image was adjusted in StarTools. The picture was taken at around 7 p.m. from Bucharest, 2 weeks ago.
I really want to test my telescope on a nice dark place. From my balcony, I have to wait warmer weather, as my flowers will be put on a very low temperature stress :) and my wife is not happy with this.
Recently, I have discovered this topic on Alt-Az mount astrophotography: https://stargazerslo...-dso-challenge/.

Thanks,
Cezar

Attached Thumbnails

• M15.jpg

• SBacon likes this

Meade LT-8

#2 MistrBadgr

MistrBadgr

Advanced Member

• Administrators
  • 2957 posts
  • LocationBroken Arrow, Oklahoma

Posted 04 December 2018 - 03:47 PM

Hi Cezar!

I think you have taken a great picture....especially for your first one and under some pretty extreme conditions!  I look forward to seeing your work as you learn more about the process and your equipment. :)

Bill Steen

Bill Steen, Sky Hunters' Haven Observatory, Broken Arrow, Oklahoma

#3 Cezar

Cezar

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 18 January 2019 - 11:33 AM

I have tried two new objects: M81 and M52. I am not so proud of what I have achieved, I had worse light pollution than previous image of M15 (there is a construction site near my bloc, they keep a reflector up all night) . I am still waiting for the 2 inch to T2 adapter, in order to try my Optolong L-PRO light pollution filter. On both images I used Antares 6.3 focal reducer and 15 sec exposure on ISO 1600.

Meade LT-8

#4 Cezar

Cezar

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 18 January 2019 - 11:34 AM