No replies to this topic

#1 Andrey

Andrey

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 24 July 2018 - 02:09 AM

Greetings, dear Meade users!

I am a newbie owner of Meade Polaris 90 with German equatorial mount.

After one month of happy sky watching I noticed that rotation of declination and right ascension control cables feels not smooth, but with tension and scratching sound. In the result in an ocular I observe jumps instead of smooth motion.

Would you be so kind as to suggest me a way to untie precision controls and/or put additional grease?

What grease do we normally use for Meade German equatorial mounts?

Thank you for a detailed reply.

#2 MistrBadgr

MistrBadgr

Advanced Member

• Administrators
  • 2955 posts
  • LocationBroken Arrow, Oklahoma

Posted 24 July 2018 - 02:33 PM

Hi Andrey!

I do not have one of the Polaris refractors, but I do have all three of the reflectors.  I will look over one of my mounts and get back with you on how to get into it.  In order to keep the price down, they do make these things in a hurry.  I have found one of the infinity mounts in the early days of that line that had some metal shavings inside the action that made it act about like you are describing.  I was able to pull it apart, clean out the metal particles, and regrease with some medium grease.  It worked very well after that.  I will try to look it over and get back with you, hopefully tomorrow.

I have to go and work in some hot places on a steam boiler tomorrow and am not sure how well my mind will be working after that.  If I am not thinking clearly, I will wait until I have rested to answer.

If you live in the United States, and your scope is still under warranty, you can call Meade at 800-626-3233.  In other countries, the rules and contracts with suppliers vary.  Therefore, I cannot speak to arrangements for a replacement under warranty.

I will report back to you after I have looked over one of my mounts.