6 replies to this topic

#1 Andrey

Andrey

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 17 July 2018 - 01:36 PM

Greetings, dear Meade users!

I am a happy newbie owner of Meade Polaris 90 with German equatorial mount. Recently I discovered some parts of the mount are not described in the Polaris Series Instruction Manual v3 (see below).

What are A, B and C?

How do I use these parts?

What its proper location?

Thank you for a detailed reply.

2018-07-18_00h21_00.png  2018-07-18_00h32_04.png

#2 MistrBadgr

MistrBadgr

Advanced Member

• Administrators
  • 2956 posts
  • LocationBroken Arrow, Oklahoma

Posted 17 July 2018 - 05:36 PM

Hi Andrey,

Those parts have to do with attaching and using a drive unit that is not available.  The current drive attaches to the place where the manual control hooks on the other side of the mount.  A is the drive gear, which can be manually moved and serve as a manual control knob.  B is the leaver for the clutch mechanism in this unavaliable drive unit.  C, I think, is a shaft to hook the drive unit to the mount.

Hope this helps,

Bill Steen

Bill Steen, Sky Hunters' Haven Observatory, Broken Arrow, Oklahoma

#3 Andrey

Andrey

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 17 July 2018 - 10:04 PM

Hi Andrey,

Those parts have to do with attaching and using a drive unit that is not available.  The current drive attaches to the place where the manual control hooks on the other side of the mount.  A is the drive gear, which can be manually moved and serve as a manual control knob.  B is the leaver for the clutch mechanism in this unavaliable drive unit.  C, I think, is a shaft to hook the drive unit to the mount.

Hope this helps,

Bill Steen

Dear Bill,

Thank you for sharing this information.

Why the original drive unit is not available for the Polaris 90?

#4 MistrBadgr

MistrBadgr

Advanced Member

• Administrators
  • 2956 posts

Posted 19 July 2018 - 08:38 PM

Hi Andrey,