10 replies to this topic

#1 ButchA

ButchA

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • LocationRichmond, VA

Posted 27 January 2015 - 03:29 AM

I got my username/account fixed, so I figured I'd log on and introduce myself.  I am a returning novice to astronomy, having started out with an old ancient, beat up, cheesy, 50mm refractor scope that was on a wooden tripod (I think it was a Tasco).  It was so awful back then, I gave up...

All these decades later, to my surprise, my sister-in-law and her husband flat out GAVE ME their old telescope.  It is a Meade DS2114-ATS-TC, reflecting scope.  The box says Telestar though.  It is a 114mm aperture, 1000mm focal length, Bird-Jones style telescope.  It came with a 25mm eyepiece, a 9mm eyepiece, and a 2X Barlow lens.  It dates back to 2005 when you research the paperwork in the box.  Word has it that my in-laws used the scope back in 2005 and looked at the moon and maybe Jupiter or something, and that was it.  I assume they didn't use the Autostar remote, or really and truly understand what the scope was capable of.  So....  they took it back apart, put everything back in its original bubble wrap, and stored it away back in the original box for quite a number of years.  I have a mint condition 10 year old scope that works perfect! :)