8 replies to this topic

#1 derekpw

derekpw

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • LocationMercer Island (Seattle), Washington

Posted 30 April 2014 - 07:40 PM

I have the 0.5A PST.  Yesterday, Tuesday, was the first time I actually got the scope out and looked through to see the sun. First, I just used the single filter, 1.0A, and then added the other filter.  I see a few sunspots but not much else.  About the prominences. I am looking at the edge of the sun all the way around but do not see any.  Are proms always visible?  When one occurs, does it happen slowly or do you actually see it move?  Is there any special way to look to see them?  Also, the surface.  I was expecting to see granulation when viewing through the double stack.  The image is darker but I really do not see anything stand out.  I guess I would like to know, what should I expect to see with just the eye, not using a camera.  Are the features active?  Can you actually see movement?  I am a newbie at this.  Today was my second time viewing.  Just want to understand more.  Thank you.

#2 derekpw

derekpw

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 30 April 2014 - 07:48 PM

I should also say that I am using a CEMAX 12mm eyepiece. I also have a Coronado 2X barlow which I have not used yet.

#3 Mark Sibole

Mark Sibole

Advanced Member

• Administrators
  • 2368 posts

Posted 30 April 2014 - 07:48 PM

If you are not seeing any proms or even granular surface feature you dont have the ethalon tuned properly.Single lens is easy  obtain focus and slowly tune the tuner rinng for the details you want to see.you can find a happy setting to see surface features as well as proms.As for the stacking kit you have to work back and forth with tuners to get the best results.It can seem tedious at first untill you know the scope more but when you get it it comes easier and you will see much more with it double stacked.

Regards

Mark

Mark Sibole
MTSO Observatory
Fife Lake, Mi.

http://astronomy.qteaser.com