Photo

Which scope for a beginner? Meade DS-2130ATS-LNT vs Meade ETX-80AT-TC?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 glenn

glenn

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 08 October 2013 - 03:10 AM

Hi!

I'm new to this, and would like to get a simple telescope which will be able to view galaxies and stars far away. I would like as much details as possible for a reasonable price.

I would want the scope to be a nice entry/beginner scope, but still be able to give excitement as the user gets more into the hobby. In other words, a beginner/intermediate scope.

Meade seems to be offering what I want in terms of size. We have a very tiny apartment, and it should be easy to put it in a suitcase or bag, and these two seems to fit our size needs.

They are fairly different telescopes, and as I have no experience, I need some help in deciding which of these would be best. The DS seems to be able to handle objects further away. Am I correct?

Also does the included AutoStar Suiteā„¢ Astronomer Edition support Mac? (OS X 10.8 / 10.9)

#2 MistrBadgr

MistrBadgr

Advanced Member

• Administrators
  • 2957 posts
  • LocationBroken Arrow, Oklahoma

Posted 08 October 2013 - 02:49 PM

Hello and welcome to the forum!

As a disclaimer, I have never used either of these scopes, so I am working from general knowledge and a little from what other people have told me. I really have not heard any serious complaints about the recent productions of either one of these. I do have a little more hesitancy with the 2130, simply due to the basic nature of its design. However, it does seem to work well when properly set up.