• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 ronb7

ronb7

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 03 October 2013 - 10:25 AM

I am a rank beginner, on a very thin, post retirement budget. Therefore, I was ecstatic when I learned about the special sale price, on the NG60 scope.
I subsequently puchased one, and I am quite pleased with the scope, itself.

However, I find that the view finder is of very limited use. The lens of the finder is darkened, which I assume, is for anti-glare purposes?? As a result, I am unable to see anything but the very brightest objects, through the finder.

I later realized that this finder scope may be intended for day time use, such as bird watching, etc.??
Can anyone confirm my suspicion, or if my assumption is incorrect, explain the correct reason for my problem?? I could not find any info in the instruction manual, or elsewhere, on this subject.

Thanks much,
a "newbie"

#2 MistrBadgr

MistrBadgr

Advanced Member

• Administrators
  • 2958 posts
  • LocationBroken Arrow, Oklahoma

Posted 03 October 2013 - 04:03 PM

The finder on this scope may very well be darker than those on other models, since the scope is intended for multiple uses.

Here is the best trick that I know for making it work with astronomical targets. (My NG-60s and 70s have this same problem)

You cannot see objects directly through the darkened surface. What you have to do is look at some object in the day time with both eyes, then work the scope in the way of your left one. When the red dot seems to be in the same spot as the distant object, then look through the eyepiece. and center the object in the main telescope. Then go back to the finder and see how far it is off. Make an adjustment to the finder and re-center the red dot on the object and look through the telescope again. Keep doing this until the red dot of the finder is on top of the distant object AS YOU LOOK AT IT WITH YOUR OTHER EYE, and the object is centered in your telescope field as well.