9 replies to this topic

#1 switchback

switchback

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 20 August 2013 - 01:38 AM

HI Peeps,

I love space the starts and have got a few scopes but i really suck the most i been abule to do is look at the moon.Not sure what i am doing.I have read allot but when even i get a good night to play with my scopes i just cannot seam to do very good.I live in northern cali and we are only 50 feet above see level so not ever all that many starts you can see with out a scope.finding the north star not so easy.I think i found big dipper but after i do the alt pos. 0 pos. and face the scope to the north i see what must be big dipper but can only see parts of it still i face it the best i can but the scope still not going to any place i ask it to go.I then do a goto the moon and its way of i think i just suck but i really goto ean the stars will help alot so i am studying.Any advice help sure could use it.I have the Meade StarNavigator Refracting Telescope with a #497 autostar i downloaded autostar and updated the controll followed directions but i dont know why i cannot seem to see nothing i really like to see other planets saturn rings but not been abule to see much yet so please help a dummy.P:

#2 MistrBadgr

MistrBadgr

Advanced Member

• Administrators
  • 2958 posts
  • LocationBroken Arrow, Oklahoma

Posted 20 August 2013 - 06:41 AM

Hello, and welcome to the 4M Forum!

I think you came to a place where you can get some help. The kinds of questions are what this place is for.

I think we need to start out with little bits and work our way through some things over time, in order to keep from overwhelming you.

First off, I would like for you to tell me which refractor you have, the 90mm or the 102mm. It makes a bit of difference which one you have as to what is best to see. Even though they are very similar, each one has a little different strengths. Also, what eyepieces do you have?