• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 sgriffith62

sgriffith62

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 21 July 2013 - 06:52 AM

I am very new to astronomy and telescopes. I have a DS 2130 telescope I just purchased used.
This uses a .965 focuser. I found a Meade 1.25 focuser that came off another Meade Reflector.
Before I purchase it, will it fit on the OTA?
Thanks

#2 MistrBadgr

MistrBadgr

Advanced Member

• Administrators
  • 2958 posts
  • LocationBroken Arrow, Oklahoma

Posted 21 July 2013 - 07:43 AM

I cannot tell you absolutely for sure. But, if it is for the same diameter of scope, it should. There could be a slight difference between a focuser for a DS 2114 and a DS 2130, but different focusers for a DS 2130 should work just fine.

The only complication that I can think of is if the bolt holes were cast in different places, but I do not think that likely.

Another possibility is to check and see if you can simply unscrew the eyepiece holder off of the focuser and get a different one for 1.25 inch eyepieces.

There are several different sellers on eBay that may have them. Telescope-Warehouse is one. The owner, Bill Vorce, goes by scopehed1. Another, Emily, goes by the handle, lipstickonapig. I do not remember the name of the store, but she provides good service as well.

Hope this helps,

Bill Steen
Bill Steen, Sky Hunters' Haven Observatory, Broken Arrow, Oklahoma

#3 sgriffith62

sgriffith62

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 24 July 2013 - 02:49 AM

THanks Bill. Contacted Bill Vorce and have one coming.

#4 sgriffith62

sgriffith62

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 25 July 2013 - 06:54 PM

Got the top 1.25 for my focuser and works well.
Also, ordered a laser collimator from Orion. DOes the mirror on the DS-2130 have the center primary marked for the secondary?