#1 aoseesink

aoseesink

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • LocationMainz, Germany

Posted 28 May 2013 - 10:17 AM

Hi!

Just got my Lightswitch 6" ACF. It's my first telescope and I am a complete newbie to Astronomy.

Anyway, I knew before that it wouldn't be too easy to control it with my MacBook Pro Retina 15", but I just can't find a working solution that does not include some kind of MS Windows Emulation. Did anyone succeed with that in the past?

I tried Equinox Pro, but it seems I read something wrong in the Internet.

Any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance

Alex, who hopes for better weather soon! :)

#2 ahopp

ahopp

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 74 posts

Posted 28 May 2013 - 11:23 AM

TheSkyX Pro is fantastic, but, expensive for some.

Tony
60mm Focal (First Telescope)
Orion MiniGiant 9x63
Mallincam Xtreme EXview HAD
Canon 5D Mark II
Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L
Canon 24-105mm f/4L

#3 aoseesink

aoseesink

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • LocationMainz, Germany

Posted 30 May 2013 - 06:50 AM

Tried all available Prolific Drivers for Mac, none worked. Seems they need to incorporate "Meade" as VendorID. Anyone with an idea why Meade does not support the Mac? Market share of OSX should seems high enough now.

Anyway, guess I can't go around using Parallels and have a virtual PC just to be able to move the Telescope. Awkward but I think I'll get it working. Will update when done! :)

#4 aoseesink

aoseesink

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • LocationMainz, Germany

Posted 30 May 2013 - 11:51 AM

Drat!

Killed the LS while doing an update of the Firmware. Apparently the Batteries, fresh as they were, weren't powerful enough. Hope I can fix that with trying again with a MiniSD card based update. Got the car adapter for the scope... guess I'll update the scope in my car tomorrow. IF I can find a MiniSD card with SD Adapter tomorrow.