Photo

Want to buy an LS 8 -- should I spend extra for ACF?

ls

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 SLC Tortfeasor

SLC Tortfeasor

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 April 2013 - 07:40 PM

Hi all,

I'm pretty sure the LS 8 is the right scope for me. I'm interested in opinions regarding whether ACF is worth an extra $200.

Obviously, I'm a noob. And I'm really only interested in visual observing, not photography.

What do you think? If you were in my shoes, would you spend $200 for ACF, and why?

Thanks in advance!

David

#2 gunfighter48

gunfighter48

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA

Posted 19 April 2013 - 07:58 AM

I just bought my LS 8 ACF 5 weeks ago and I'd say yes it's worth the cxtra $200 for the ACF version. I have a Meade 2080 8" SCT with plain mirror coatings and it's got really good optics but the ACF is much better, The view thru the ACF is sharper, backgroup is darker, everything has a crisper - brighter image. I got much better detail looking at Jupiter than I would have gotten with the 2080. The seeing conditions weren't real good that night either. When I looked at the moon the detail was much sharper, even using Orion Sirus plossls that I bought over 10 years ago. As you can tell I'm really happy with my ACF.

The other things I like about the LS 8 is the ease of use and the portability. I have a very bad back so weight was a big issue when I decieded to upgrade my scope. I know how to setup a scope and my 2080 took around an hour to get setup and ready to observe. With the LS 8 turn it on and in less that 10 minutes is ready to use. It sure is nice to tell the scope what you want to view and have it go to that object! The down side of the LS 8 is it vibrates easier and more due to the lightweight tripod. There's always a give and take with the weight factor but I'll still very happy with mine.

#3 ka1bqp

ka1bqp

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • LocationRhode Island