• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 freddieflex

freddieflex

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 30 March 2013 - 06:01 PM

I AM REALLY NEW TO THE WHOLE TELESCOPE WORLD AND LOOKING TO BY MY FIRST TELESCOPE. I WOULD LIKE THIS TO BE MY LAST ALSO, SO I WANT TO DO THIS RIGHT, AND ONE TIME ONLY. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW THE MAJOR DIFFERENCES BETWEEN THE LX90 ACF 12" AND THE LX200 ACF 12", AND IF THE $1300 DIFFERENCE IS ACTUALLY WORTH IT OR NOT. I HAVE LOOKED AT ALL THE SPECS FOR BOTH SCOPES BUT I AM STILL LEARNING WHAT IT ALL MEANS. PLEASE LEAVE ME ALL THE INFORMATION AND OPINIONS THAT YOU CAN. THANK YOU.
  • skiliaBam and HectocaGreemo like this

#2 MistrBadgr

MistrBadgr

Advanced Member

• Administrators
  • 2809 posts
  • LocationBroken Arrow, Oklahoma

Posted 30 March 2013 - 06:49 PM

Hello and welcome to the forum!

Some of the people that have experience with these scopes really need to speak up, but I can tell you a few of the basics.

First off, the optical tubes are the same. The difference is in the mounts themselves.

The LX 90 is lighter and more portable than the LX 200. The 12 inch version of the LX 90 is probably at the far end of its weight capacity.

The LX 200 is much heavier and less portable. Most people, but not all, who have a 12 inch LX 200 end up building an observatory for them due to the portability issue.

Due to its stability, the LX 200 has greater capacity to hold weight of additional components for such things as astrophotography. This is the mount that the people that I know that are avid astrophotographers using either of the two use.

With a 12 inch optical tube, the LX 90 would be more transportable, probably by quite a bit and would be much easier to manhandle. It would probably be just as good at visual astronomy, but would not be as steady of a platform if you choose to get deeply into astrophotography and does not have the same options available to it for that purpose.

What have I left out? Comments?

Bill Steen