4 replies to this topic

#1 stevenlambrechts

stevenlambrechts

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 March 2013 - 07:33 AM

hello ,
i have my lx 90 8" for over a year now and started with astrophography . So far i have only made pictures of the solar planets .
Now i want to get into the deepsky fotography . I bought the wedge , the focal reducer and e 80mm guidescoop .
the only problem is the guiding . Guiding with phd did not work ( no comunication with the mount ..) , i bought the lvi smartguider ( normaly compatible with the autostar )
but no result !
Is it possible to guide with the lx90 ?
Thanks

#2 Numptyworld

Numptyworld

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 12 March 2013 - 12:10 PM

Dear Steve,

Tring to figure the same thing. Did you install the ASCOM drivers etc....? Think to use phd, you need these...

Regards,

James

#3 snoopy4ever

snoopy4ever

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 March 2013 - 12:30 PM

Hello Steve and James.

I'm a newbie too, BUT I think I have the solution for Steve on his guiding problems, and also this can work with James.

I got my LX90 around August last year , with the AutoStar hand control, but the screen broke 2 months later, so I had to go to the dealer and got a new hand controller, BUT this time I had no option but to get the AudioStar , a new one.

It turns out that around October last year, Meade upgraded the AudioStar firmware to a new version ( A3S4) that allows us to use the new AutoGuiding Module Port ( APM #07509) , that Port allows the LX90 and LX80 to receive ST4 commands from an autoguider.