11 replies to this topic

#1 Dreamline Observatory

Dreamline Observatory

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 24 March 2007 - 05:56 PM

Hi There,

Since this RCX space was empty, I thought it would be great to get things started!  I just recently purchased my Meade RCX400 12" in Jan 2007.  I also bought 2 Meade DSI's; DSI Pro to use a auto guider and the DSI Pro II as an imager.  I am quite new to astrophtography.  I also recently built a new observatory with a 8ft Explora Dome.  Still waiting on delivery of my wedge.  I really like the upgrades to the RCX from the LX200.

James
Dreamline Observatory - NB Canada  ::)
James

Dreamline Observatory
46° 16' 10.00" N   64° 38' 00.74" W

#2 angel9262

angel9262

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 26 March 2007 - 06:58 AM

Just in the process of purchasing a second user but brand new 12" RCX400 from a seller in Florida. Its going to wing its way to light polluted Siongapore for some real tough work.

How does yours compare to the LX200?
I know this is most probably asking someone to compare a Porsche to a ford focus, but I'm just wondering if it is going to live up to its expectations in such polluted skies?

Any feedback you can offer, hints on making the experience easier, what parts let the scope down (I have seen many second user scopes for sale where worm gears have been replaced, collimating screws removed and replaced by other parts) What are your experiences with the scope?

Thanks for listening. I'll post my reviews when I receive and set it up in Sunny S'pore

Steve

#3 lambertr

lambertr

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 26 March 2007 - 08:22 PM

Hi Steve,

I had the 10" LX200GPS scope  but upgraded it to the 10" RCX400 scope and I love it!
I try to use it everynight, weather permitting. I live in New Jersey, about 30 miles west of New York City.