• Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • LocationMexico City

Posted 03 September 2012 - 01:05 PM

Hello,

Im a newbie into Observing through Telescopes, I recently got myself an LS 6"

and I want to get a really fine eyepiece

Anyone knows how good this new line are?

MEADE SERIES 5000 XTREME WIDE ANGLE line

Im thinking of the 9mm eyepiece

how good and big would planets and nebulas look on a Meade ETX LS 6" ACF would look with this eyepiece?

how about the other eyepieces from this same line?

http://www.shopatron...25.1019303.0.0?

MEADE SERIES 5000 XTREME WIDE ANGLE 20MM EYEPIECE

MEADE SERIES 5000 XTREME WIDE ANGLE 14MM EYEPIECE

MEADE SERIES 5000 XTREME WIDE ANGLE 9MM EYEPIECE

Thanks!
Current Scope / Meade ETX LS 6" ACF /

My God, It`s Full of Stars!!

#2 MistrBadgr

MistrBadgr

Advanced Member

• Administrators
  • 2744 posts
  • LocationBroken Arrow, Oklahoma

Posted 05 September 2012 - 05:58 PM

Hi Francisco,

Generally, wide angle eyepieces are better for wide field views, rather than for planets. In eyepieces, like many other things, in order to get one characteristic to work at an extreme, you have to give up on some other characteristic.

The really wide eyepieces can give you a feeling that you are actually out in space looking around, but they tend to give up characteristics that make them good for planetary observing.

i have use othoscopic eyepieces, which Meade currently does not sell. They are a long standing version that can give very good views at the expense of a narrower apparent field of view, around 45 degrees. The regular four element plossles are more general viewing eyepieces that can serve reasonably well for planetary use, but are not as good as orthoscopic eyepieces or others. A longer focal length plosslewith a barlow does almost as well as an orthoscopic.