3 replies to this topic

#1 marklme

marklme

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • LocationPortland Maine

Posted 31 July 2012 - 08:38 AM

Newbie here. Close to buying an LX80 (yes, I can wait...). Manual refers to connecting a PC to the mount for firmware updates. Problem is, I don't have a PeeCee - I'm a Mac guy.

Anyone know how if and how a Mac can be used to "manage" the mount/HC updates?

Many thanks.

Mark

#2 TCampbell

TCampbell

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 23 August 2012 - 07:59 AM

I'm also a Mac guy. Meade has never made software to run directly on the Mac. To use Meade's software, you'd need to get some virtualization software (either VMware Fusion, VirtualBox, or Parallels Desktop) and you'll need to buy a copy of Windows to run in the VM. You'll also need a USB to serial adapter (e.g. a Keyspan USA-19HS will work.)

Lastly, the LX80 will not include the serial cable that attaches the scope to your computer. For this you need to buy or build a Meade #505 cable (for the Meade #497 Autostar and Meade Audiostar controllers.) Note that Meade uses a few different cables so it's important you buy the correct one. You can find schematics online on how to make your own cable (it's fairly easy with a few dollars in parts from any Radio Shack store. I made my own.) Mike Weasner's ETX site probably has the details (weasner.com/etx) as it's the same cable used with an ETX-90 & ETX-125 (but NOT the same cable used with other ETX scopes. Like I said... make sure you're buying or building the correct cable.)

As for that virtualization software... I started with Parallels Desktop. That was a disaster I wouldn't wish on anyone. I've found VMware to be the best. VirtualBox is free, though I never could get it to work with the Keyspan adapter (but then I didn't spend a lot of time trying.)