Photo

First Telescope - Meade 4501 - Missing Parts?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 fradster

fradster

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • LocationOhio

Posted 03 July 2012 - 03:49 PM

Hi there,
I am complete newby to astronomy and telescopes, but it's something I've always found interesting so I picked up a Meade 4501 telescope and tripod at a garage sale the other day. I knew it was missing parts, but I only paid $5, so it wasn't a big deal. Besides, I am an engineer, so I can probably build something for it even if I can't buy the parts any more.

Anyhow, I know I am missing the viewfinder and an eyepeice, but I think I am also missing something else that I hoping some of you can help me with? Basically I have a 2" dia focusing tube with a threaded end, but nothing after that (check out the photos below). Since all the eyepeices I can find say they are 1.25", I am fairly certain I am missing a cap of some sort that screws onto the focusing tube and holds the eyepeice...right?

Posted Image

Posted Image

Thanks in advance,
Fradster

#2 MistrBadgr

MistrBadgr

Advanced Member

• Administrators
  • 2884 posts
  • LocationBroken Arrow, Oklahoma

Posted 03 July 2012 - 08:24 PM

Hi there! Welcome to the Forum.

Yes, the focuser is missing a threaded piece that holds the particular size eyepiece. The threads on these older telescopes are a little different than the newer ones, I think.

The person you need to talk to is Bill Vorce. He has an on line store called Telescope-Warehouse.com. He also sells on eBay. On his website, you can find his email address and send him a message, telling him what you have. He may have such a part. Otherwise, you may need to purchase a different focuser and possibly drill new holes for mounting screws.

The size of scope you have is a classic. I have owned three different ones in that size and have enjoyed using them.

Best Regards,

Bill Steen
Bill Steen, Sky Hunters' Haven Observatory, Broken Arrow, Oklahoma