6 replies to this topic

#1 tschuh

tschuh

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 26 February 2010 - 11:17 PM

WARNING - Rant ahead!!!

Now that I've been using my LXD-75 for a few years and I'm very comfortable with it I yearn for something a bit more robust, a bit more precise and with a slightly higher payload.  I don't need to go gung-ho and get a big Tak, MI, Losmandy or even a Celestron CGE Pro.  I would like something like a CGEM from Meade however.  I'd be willing to pay a premium for a higher quality, higher precision mount that I could put a 40lbs to 50 lbs payload on.

Take the LXD-75 as a starting point and scale it up 25%.  The case can be cast to save cost and ease manufacturing though with mini CNC equipment being so cheap these days I don't see where even that would be a deal breaker.  I don't think any of this would exceed 12 x 9 x 4 so even a desktop mill could likely handle it but i digress.  Aeroquest Machining right here in the good ol' US of A can make a one-off worm for a LXD75 for under $100 that is far superior to the gears coming out of China.  The grease that came in the LXD series is notorious for being more like glue than grease.  The plastic bearings are so poorly cut that I can do a better job freehand with an Exacto knife and add to that the material that is closer to a collapsable water bottle than a bearing material.  Again the market has an inexpensive improvement in some Teflon bearings cut on a CNC machine.  While the spur gears are adequate and could constitue a significant manufacturing savings I feel a very strong majority of users would be willing to pay for a toothed belt drive similar to the WarpsDrive modification kit for the LXD55/75 series mounts.