Juptier LPI

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_cym_*

Guest_cym_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 May 2007 - 11:51 AM

I need some help.

How should I be taking pictures of Jupiter? I did this one last night. It seems way too bright. I tried adjusting the exposure but that didn't help. It looks like you can see detail around the bright middle. Do I need to use any filters. As you can guess, I'm pretty new to this.

http://www.coolrocke...r/jupiter56.jpg

ETX 90
LPI
Near a big city.

Thanks for your help.

Mark

#2 pughpl

pughpl

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 13 May 2007 - 04:43 PM

Mark,
Let me start by saying I am no expert and most of my images are of the moon.  I really love observing the moon. However, I have made a few images of Jupiter.  I have been using the LPI for over a year now and I can tell you a couple of things I have discovered. But again, I don't want to give you the impression I have it all figured out, I do not.

To begin, when I first move to target like Jupiter, I run the Auto Expose.  Once that is done, I continue to fine tune the focus.  Then I start adjusting the gain.  I find the gain is often too high, objects often look way too bright at least that is my experience.

Next I like to use "align and combine" and set my minimum image quality to at least 65%. 

I also keep the long exposure unchecked.  Jupiter is bright, I do not think you need long exposure.  If you do, I hope someone chimes in here and helps me understand why or when I need to do long exposure on planets. Okay, possibly Uranus or Neptune, but I really wonder if the LPI could actually image either of those.  My LPI goes nuts whenever it is not aimed at something bright.  Like I said, I do not have it all figured out.

I would also suggest color filters for planetary imaging.  Filters have ratings ( "Wratten"). For Jupiter the best filters are 80A, 82A, 12, and 21.  These filters bring out different features of Jupiter.