• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 abn3001

abn3001

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 23 March 2007 - 01:00 PM

Hi I Have an lx90 and want to get in to guiding.I have an apm port and would like some suggestions as to what kind of guide scope to buy.I have an sxv h9 as my main imager,Has anyone used the sxv guiding camera and what kind of results have you managed and any related problem.Ashley

#2 Mark Sibole

Mark Sibole

Advanced Member

• Administrators
  • 2368 posts

Posted 23 March 2007 - 03:38 PM

I have no personal knowledge myself but from many I talk to they have had real good success.
As of the guide scope.
There are several brands available on the market today and Myself i have a few different 1s but ive been mainly using the Meade 80 mm APO for guiding.
It has great optics and I also use it as a widefield platrorm for imaging.
In the end the choice will be yours .
If you plan on using the guide scope on the LX90 for guiding or imaging I strongly suggest the Losmandy system for mounting it.
IMO you cant find a better system.

regards

Mark
Mark Sibole
MTSO Observatory
Fife Lake, Mi.

http://astronomy.qteaser.com

#3 rhofm

rhofm

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 24 March 2007 - 08:16 AM

You might want to consider an alternative system for guiding: an off-axis guider. Here's why: during your session the optical axis of your guidescope might shift in relation to your imaging scope. Reasons are thermal expansion of the elements involved and shifting of components (mirror). Your guide scope may be on your guide star all the time but your main scope is pointing in another direction. There may be only a small difference, but this can be enough to ruin your photo. This is especially true for longer exposures.

You will find this mentioned in many books and articles about astrophotography. Of course an off-axis guider has also downsides like a smaller field of view and fewer guidestars to choose from.

-Rainer

#4 Iver

Iver