#1 Philip Pugh

Philip Pugh

Sir Philip Pugh, AKA Astrochav

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 930 posts
  • LocationBased in South West England and Wales

Posted 16 April 2008 - 07:33 AM

I checked the Sun last night and this morning and its gone quiet with no prominences and only granulation visible on the disc.

#2 Philip Pugh

Philip Pugh

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 930 posts

Posted 16 May 2008 - 01:36 PM

There was a large prom visible but its now gone quiet again.

#3 rodgoulty

rodgoulty

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 22 May 2008 - 04:26 AM

Hello, I am very new to solar observing & have just bought a PST. I was dissapointed that my try out was greeted by an  orange disc with nothing else visible ? I am using the original eyepiece (K20) & have also tried a Meade zoom 8-25 (ETX125PE) & Barlow x2 . Is it because the "Sun gone quiet" ? Do I need the "Cemax" eyepieces " or can I use any ?
I would appreciate any advice & apologise if I am in the wrong forum,wrong thread or just wrong !  Thanks & regards from UK where the Sun is not always visible !!!  :)
Rod

#4 coyote

coyote

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 22 May 2008 - 11:14 AM

You can use any eye piece and although the cemax are nice eyepieces it is debatable whether they are any better than other plossel eyepieces. tuning into , looking at different positions in the eyepiece,focusing,and of course atmosphere conditions are important, also your eyes become in tune with the more you look. keep on and you will see the treasures. I actually just bought a cemax 18mm and i dont like it much.I tested it against my meade 4000 25mm and 9.7mm and I liked the 4000 series better.but I like the cemax barlow which i used in the test as well. I hope this helps

#5 Philip Pugh

Philip Pugh

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 930 posts

Posted 24 May 2008 - 05:09 AM