first telescope-Meade 70AZ-AR

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_pack84_*

Guest_pack84_*
  • Guests

Posted 04 January 2008 - 10:54 PM

Hi there I'm new to all this.I just bought a meade 70az-ar telescope.I purchased this at Wal-mart,first off is that my 1st mistake?Can i see planets very well?....Are there any upgrades?....If i wanted to see for example saturns rings what would be a good starter telescope for that?

#2 MistrBadgr

MistrBadgr

Advanced Member

• Administrators
  • 2960 posts
  • LocationBroken Arrow, Oklahoma

Posted 05 January 2008 - 05:24 AM

Hello,

Welcome to astronomy.  I have not owned one, but I believe the 70mm refractor is a pretty good place to start to get a general introduction to the subject.  I do not believe you made a mistake unless you decide that you have.  A lot can be see with that size of telescope.  However, there is a lot that cannot be seen that requires a much larger scope in terms of diameter.  The real issue is simply light gathering power.

That scope will also be good for terrestrial viewing, such as birds and other wildlife.  An image erecting diagonal will most likely be needed for that.  Assuming that you have a diagonal (turns the image at a right angle) with your scope, it will make right side up.  But, left and right are reversed.  A terrestrial diagonal generally turns the image 45 degrees instead of the 90, since you will have the scope more or less horizontal instead of looking up into the sky.